News Story

2012 Department of Civil & Environmental Engineering Awards

2012 Department of Civil & Environmental Engineering Awards

Please join us to congratulate the following civil students for receiving the 2012 Department and/or College of Engineering Awards. The awards were presented at the annual "A. James Clark School of Engineering Honors & Awards Ceremony" on Thursday, April 19, 2012 in the Grand Ballroom of the Stamp Student Union.


 2012 Department of Civil & Environmental Engineering Awards

  • The Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering Outstanding Senior Award: Heungkook N. Stephens
  • The Woodward-Clyde Consultants Award: Jacob Michael Steinberg
  • The Chi Epsilon Outstanding Senior Award: Maria Kathryn Martello
  • The Bechtel Award: Michael Christopher Galczynski
  • The Robert L. Morris Award for Environmental Leadership: Erin S Hylton
  • The Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering Chair’s Award: Maria Kathryn Martello & Shana Renee Weisberg
  • The American Society of Civil Engineers Outstanding Senior Award: Shana Renee Weisberg 2012

A. James Clark School of Engineering Awards & Commencement Speaker

  • The A. James Clark School of Engineering International Student Award: Erin Hylton
  • The Outstanding Engineering Co-op/Intern Award: Elizabeth Slick

2012 University Commencement Student Speaker

  • Heungkook Stephens

2012 Udall Scholarship

Erin Hylton received the 2012 Udall Scholarship in recognition of her work in environmental studies. The Udall Scholarship program recognizes future leaders across a wide spectrum of environmental fields, including policy, engineering, science, education, urban planning and renewal, business, health, justice and economics. The program was established by the U.S. Congress to honor Congressman Morris King Udall's 30-year legacy of public service.

April 23, 2012

Prev   Next

Current Headlines

U.S. Secretary of Transportation Anthony Foxx Headlines University of Maryland Transportation Summit

Zhang Named Rabin Distinguished Professor

CEE Transportation Researchers Tackle Critical Topics at 95th TRB Annual Meeting

UMD Team Selected to Participate in International Solar Decathlon

UMD-led Team Advances in SpaceX Hyperloop Pod Competition

Assessment of Critical Infrastructure Components Project Makes AASHTO’s Sweet 16

University of Maryland, Aviation Week Network Team Up for 2016 Project Management Symposium

Clark School Students Invited to Apply for Summer Engineering Courses in Czech Republic, Italy

News Resources

Return to Newsroom

Search News

Archived News

Events Resources

Events Calendar

Additional Resources

UM Newsdesk

Faculty Experts