News Story

Dr. Seagren And Student Tim Moore Awarded 2005 Rudolph Hering Medal

Dr. Seagren And Student Tim Moore Awarded 2005 Rudolph Hering Medal


Prof. Eric Seagren and his former M.S. student, Tim Moore, were awarded the 2005 Rudolph Hering Medal from the American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE) for their paper "Nonaqueous Phase Liquid Pool Dissolution As A Function Of Average Pore Water Velocity," which was published in ASCE's Journal of Environmental Engineering in 2003 (Vol. 129, Issue 9, pages 786-799).

The award, consisting of a bronze medal and a certificate, was presented at the ASCE World Water and Environmental Resources Congress in Anchorage, Alaska, which was held May 15-19. The Rudolph Hering Medal was instituted and endowed in 1924 by the Sanitary Engineering Division (now the Environmental and Water Resources Institute) of ASCE, in honor of Rudolph Hering, past Vice President of the Society. The medal is awarded to the author(s) of the paper which contains the most valuable contribution to the increase of knowledge in, and to the advancement of, the environmental branch of the engineering profession.

Further information on the award and past winners can be found at the following:

June 29, 2005

Prev   Next

Current Headlines

Iribe Center Tour Brings Classroom Concepts to Life

CEE Transportation Experts Receive ITS World Congress Award

CEE Faculty, Alumna Receive Emerald Research Methodology Award

UMD Engineers Answer Questions about Record-Breaking Harvey, Flooding

Staff Spotlight: Alan Santos

Wind Engineers Complete Proof of Concept for New Structural Design Method

Yao, Yang Receive Education Award from the American Chemical Society Division of Agrochemicals

QUEST Students Tackle Brisbane Ferry Challenge

News Resources

Return to Newsroom

Search News

Archived News

Events Resources

Events Calendar

Additional Resources

UM Newsdesk

Faculty Experts